Day 10– Everybody poops (Some more than others)

‪#‎GastroparesisAwarenessMonth‬ Day 10 talks about ‪#‎poop‬. Yup, I said it, Poop.

I’m not sure why there’s this stigma about having to keep quiet about something that EVERYONE DOES. I know I was uncomfortable at first when I started having issues. Not just because my stomach hurt more than words can describe, but because that’s just it… I didn’t know the words to describe it since I never talked about poop before!

With ‪#‎Gastroparesis‬, since your stomach isn’t working properly, the rest of your digestive tract is having a panic attack. One doctor explained this to me in a way I could actually “see” it. He said that my digestive system is an orchestra. When well rehearsed, it sounds beautiful and everything flows from beginning to end. But if someone doesn’t know the music anymore, you might hear them louder than everyone else because it isn’t right or you might hear something missing because they’ve stopped playing. Either way the orchestra is no longer in sync and it will throw off the whole performance.

People with Gastroparesis can experience a mixture of ‪#‎constipation‬ and loose bowels. The‪#‎cramping‬ “crescendos” or seems to get louder and the pain increases then starts to decline before it builds up again.

I encourage those that experience issues with ‪#‎bowelmovements‬ to stop being embarrassed about the topic and actually talk to your physician about your symptoms. It could be something more than just a stomach bug.

We need ‪#‎awareness‬, we need a ‪#‎Cure‬. ‪#‎CureGP‬ ‪#‎DTPAwareness‬‪#‎InvisibleIllness‬ ‪#‎DigestiveDisorders‬ ‪#‎EveryonePoops‬

Poop

Leave a Reply

