Gastroparesis Awareness Month 2016

It’s day 1 of ‪#‎GastroparesisAwarenessMonth‬! Starting today and through the next 30 days, I will be posting daily with information to help spread ‪#‎awareness‬. My intention is to educate others on the ins and outs of this troubling disease and hopefully give some people a little peace of mind when they find out they aren’t alone in this fight. Together we can spread the word, help others, and find a cure for‪#‎Gastroparesis‬. Help spread awareness by sharing with everyone you know. Someone may be suffering symptoms and not even know how to approach their situation.

The biggest thing to know about Gastroparesis is that it’s different for everyone. Symptoms and intensity of the symptoms vary and it is extremely difficult to diagnose. I dealt with my symptoms for 7 months before I found a doctor that could diagnose me correctly. I spent an additional 5 months suffering through symptoms, different medications, and side effects before I had a pacemaker placed. Then 2 more months until I was able to tolerate some foods again. After all of that I still went through several months of doctor visits to adjust the settings on my pacemaker until we found the setting that allows me to function “normally.” I still have good days and bad ones but without that doctor’s help I would be under 100 lbs and slowly ‪#‎starving‬ to death. It sounds dramatic– but that’s because this #invisibleillness can become extreme if not correctly diagnosed and managed. Help spread the word. Thanks! #CureGP

1 gastroparesis-what-is-it

Leave a Reply

